Mark Webber presented Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for 2010

Alan Gow (L), Mark Webber (R)

Australia’s Mark Webber has been presented with the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for 2010 following his third placing in last year’s drivers’ world championship.

Presented with the trophy at the 2011 British GP by Alan Gow from the Motor Sports Association UK, Webber joins Sir Jack Brabham and Alan Jones—both three-time winners—as the third Australian to win the prestigious award since its introduction in 1959.

Named after 1958 F1 world champion Mike Hawthorn, who died in a road accident in 1959, the trophy is awarded to the British or Commonwealth driver who places highest in the F1 drivers’ championship.

[Pic: Red Bull/Getty Images]