Hello F1, meet Caterham, Lotus and Marussia

2011 Japanese Grand Prix

The Lotus v Lotus naming saga has come to an end of sorts, with confirmation the FIA has approved three team name changes in Formula One for the 2012 season.

Team Lotus will change its name to Caterham, and follows the takeover of the British sportscar firm by the Tony Fernandes led Team Lotus Enterprise. Lotus Cars CEO Dany Bahar gets his way by turning Lotus-Renault into simply Lotus. And Richard Branson loses his naming rights with Virgin switching to Marussia, thereby acknowledging the financial support given by the Russian auto maker.

2011 Korean Grand Prix

2011 Belgian Grand Prix

2012 Team Name Changes


The FIA, on the basis of the support expressed by its F1 commission chaired by Bernie Ecclestone, which had a meeting in Geneva on November 3, has agreed the following team name changes as from 2012:

Team Name – New Chassis Name

  • Caterham F1 Team From Lotus to Caterham
  • Lotus Renault GP From Renault to Lotus
  • Marussia F1 Team From Virgin to Marussia