OFFICIAL: Formula 1 on Foxtel from 2015

2014 Australian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton’s title defence will start in Australia in mid-March and Australian viewers will be able to see it all live in high definition on Fox Sports.

In news announced today Fox Sports has signed a five-year agreement which will see it broadcast live every practice session, every qualifying session and every race, starting with the Australian Grand Prix on 12 March.

Understandably the top brass at Fox Sports are very pleased with themselves with and have confirmed Australia will take on the Sky Sports feed.

“We have reached an extraordinary affiliate agreement with Sky to deliver through Fox Sports the same incredible Formula 1 coverage which is provided by Sky Sports in the UK,” confirmed Patrick Delany, Fox Sports CEO.

Meanwhile, Delany’s boss, Foxtel CEO, Richard Freudenstein, has gone into overdrive promoting his new product.

“Not only will fans see all the races live but we will add unrivalled behind the scenes experiences and the most expert commentary available,” Freudenstein said. “Fans of motor racing will be thrilled with what they can see if they subscribe to Foxtel’s sports package.”

That means Formula 1 will be included in the regular sports package which is a $25 per month add on over the compulsory $25 basic package. A high definition Foxtel receiver is a further $10 per month, bringing the total outlay to $60 per month.

Viewers unable or unwilling to sign up to pay television can still watch F1 on free-to-air on the Ten Network. Similar to the BBC/Sky deal in the UK, Ten will broadcast 10 of the races live (simulcast with Fox Sports) with delayed highlights packages for the remaining races.

You can see a calendar below listing the races the Ten Network will show live.

[Source: Fox Sports | Thanks to Tom for the tip]

2015 F1 season – all races live on Fox Sports

  1. Australian GP – March 13–15 (Live on Ten)
  2. Malaysian GP – March 27–29
  3. Chinese GP – April 10–12
  4. Bahrain GP – April 17–19 (Live on Ten)
  5. Spanish GP – May 8–10
  6. Monaco GP – May 22–24 (Live on Ten)
  7. Canadian GP – June 5–7
  8. Austrian GP – June 19–21 (Live on Ten)
  9. British GP – July 3–5
  10. German GP – July 17–19 (Live on Ten)
  11. Hungarian GP – July 24–26
  12. Belgian GP – August 21–23 (Live on Ten)
  13. Italian GP – September 4–6
  14. Singapore GP – September 18–20 (Live on Ten)
  15. Japanese GP – September 25–27
  16. Russian GP – October 9–11 (Live on Ten)
  17. United States GP – October 23–25
  18. Mexican GP – October 30–November 1 (Live on Ten)
  19. Brazilian GP – November 13–15
  20. Abu Dhabi GP – November 27–29: (Live on Ten)