Will Power wins 2014 IndyCar title

Will Power, 2014 IndyCar champion

We don’t usually care too much about what happens in the world of IndyCar, but we must congratulate the man with the best name in motorsport, Will Power, who collected his maiden IndyCar title on the weekend.

The 33-year-old Aussie has been runner-up three times (2010–2012) and finally came up trumps this year thanks to a ninth place finish at the MAVTV 500, which gave him enough points to see off his Team Penske teammate Hélio Castroneves for the 2014 championship.

Starting from second last on the grid Power had a tough race before Castroneves made a crucial error resulting in a driver-through penalty. It was enough to give power some breathing space in the chase for the crown.

“That was one of the hardest races ever,” said Power. “Oh my God, I was crying over the line. It went on and on, and I slowly made up positions.

“I can’t believe it. I am so mentally exhausted now. That was mega.”

Congratulations Will on keeping the Australian flag flying high in international motorsport. Let’s hope he gets a chance to enjoy the win as much as his brother did.

[Source: IndyCar]