Points amendment for MINI Challenge

MINI Challenge

MINI Challenge organisers have issued a press release with a revised points table following a post-event decision from CAMS. The third race of the Round 3 meet at Queensland Raceway was red flagged short of full race distance due to Sarah Harley’s accident.

CAMS officials have contravened the Stewards’ original decision now stating that the race leader did not complete 75% of the full race distance. Therefore only half points can be awarded. Chris Alajajian and Paul Stokell remain in the first two places on the points table, but Sean Carter replaces Peter McNiven in third.

The statement from MINI, along with a revised championship ladder, is available after the break. MINI Challenge action resumes at the Townsville 400, 9–11 July.

MINI Challenge – Series Points Amendment

2010 series points in Hertz MINI Challenge – delivered by Pizza Capers have been revised after a post-event decision by the Confederation of Australian Motorsport (CAMS) in relation to Race 3 at the Ipswich 300 event on May 3.

CAMS have decided to overrule the Stewards interpretation of ‘Race Meeting Standing Regulation 6.13’ at QLD Raceway that resulted in Race 3 being declared a ‘complete’ race. CAMS officials deemed that the leader had in fact not complete the required 75% of race distance for the race to be considered ‘complete’.

As a result CAMS have insisted that only half points be awarded for Race 3 as per the Sporting Regulations S11.2(c) which states: “In the event that any race is stopped and not restarted after the completion of 50% race distance and prior to the completion of 75% race distance, then only 50% of the value of the points allocation detailed above will be awarded.”

This has resulted in a series points shift with Sean Carter promoted to third in the championship standings. For round 3, positions one and two stay the same, however Luke Youlden now takes a place on the final step of the rostrum moving to third with Chris Alajajian relegated to fourth for the round.

2010 Australian MINI Challenge Championship Table – Top 10

Pos Driver Team Pts
1 ALAJAJIAN, Chris Jack Hillermans Smash 379
2 STOKELL, Paul DecoRug Racing 340.5
3 CARTER, Sean Plan4Growth/Sales Link Australasia 318
4 McNIVEN, Peter Nulon/Supercharge Batteries 316
5 YORTT, Gavin Squawking Magpie Wines 256.5
6 CANTO, Dean Stuntdrivingschool.com.au 203
= McLAUGHLIN, Scott Fujitsu 203
8 WOOD, Dale Eagle Fuels/Best Tractor Parts 193
9 COOK, Brendan Transquip Hire/ABC Autogear 190
10 WOOTTON, Chris www.thesupporterclub.com 185

2010 MINI Challenge calendar